A messy inbox isn't an efficient one.

We provide multiple ways to keep your inbox tidy and the conversations flowing.

Some of these include the ability to close conversations, assign conversations to specific teammates, and now Views. 🎉

In this article, we'll take you through everything you need to know about Views and why they're a great addition to your inbox:

  1. What is a View

  2. Adding a View

  3. Removing a View


What is a View?

A View is essentially a preset filter that you include on your Inbox.

Each "View" is based on an existing group in MessageDesk.

When creating a View, you'll have to select a group connect it to. That's because a View simply reduces your conversations down to members of that group.

Let's say I had a group labeled 'Employees' that I connect to a View.

The View would then be automatically labeled 'Employees.' In that View, I will only see conversations with my employees since they are a member of the Employees group.

You'll notice in the example above that I'm switching from the 'All Conversations' View to the 'Employees' View.

The 'All Conversations' View is the default and will be the View you land on anytime you navigate to the Inbox. As the name describes, this includes all of your conversations and is not connected to a particular group.


Adding a View

To add a view simply click on the "Edit Views" button underneath your inbox.

This will let you add, edit, or re-arrange your views. When adding a view, you are selecting from your existing groups in MessageDesk.

Note: As of now, Views can only be connected to Static Groups (ones where you manually add each member). They cannot be connected to any Filtered Groups.

  1. Click the 'Edit Views' button that is in the Inbox dropdown.

  2. Next, click the plus sign at the bottom of your existing Views (if you haven't made a view you will only have 'All Conversations').

  3. Now you'll need to select the group to link your View to. You can select an existing group or you can create a new group by typing in a group name hitting 'Enter' on your keyboard.

    If you create a new group, you'll need to add members to it.

  4. Click 'Save' and your View is created! You'll now see it as an option in your Inbox menu. 🎉

Once a view is created, by clicking into it your inbox will only show conversations with people who are in that view.


Moving Conversations to a View

You can move specific conversations to a View manually.

As an example, if I know that Brad Pitt is one of my employees but isn't a part of the employees view, I can select his conversation to add him.

  1. Select the check box next to the conversation(s) that you would like to move into the View.

  2. Click the 'More' dropdown that appears when you select a conversation(s).

  3. Select 'Move to View'

  4. Select the View you'd like to move the conversation(s) to.

By moving the conversation to the view, you are also adding that contact to the group that is connected to that view.

For example, since I moved the conversation with Brad Pitt into the 'Employees' View, he is now also a member of the Employees group that corresponds to it.


Removing a View

To remove someone from a view, you'll need to remove them from the group that corresponds to your View.

Thankfully, your View and the corresponding group have the same name so they should be easy to find.

  1. Navigate to the groups menu that's located under 'Contacts'

  2. Find the group that's associated with your View. For me, since I'm trying to remove someone from my 'Employees' View, I'm going to look for the 'Employees' group.

  3. Once you find the group, select it to see the members of the group.

  4. Next, select the check box next to the contact(s) that you would like to remove.

  5. Once they are selected, you can click on 'Remove Contacts' to remove the contact(s) from that group.

Did this answer your question?